General Resources for Senior Students
- Use the Information Skills Process (ISP) on the Research page to guide you.
- Browse the non-fiction shelves at 907.
- For audio visual resources, search DVC and ClickView by subject heading or title. DVC can only be viewed at school. ClickView can be accessed when you are at home. Restrictions apply based on age/rating.
- Search the CTHS Library Oliver catalogue using subject terms.
- CTHS Library also holds specialist History magazines including History Today and BBC History. The contents pages are searchable using Oliver.
- Expand your search to Trove by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Trove. This is a particularly useful site for Australian history source material.
- Expand your search to Hornsby Library resources by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Hornsby Shire Library. If you are a member of Hornsby Library you can borrow their items.
- Expand your search to Macquarie University library resources by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Macquarie University Library. You can access their hard copy resources onsite but will be unable to borrow.
- Search World Book Online Advanced or Timelines. This is a reliable starting point for research if you don’t know much about the topic.
- State Library of NSW databases require you to sign up for free membership. Choose a database by name. General Modern History databases with which to start your research are:
- Cambridge Companions Online – Subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment.
- Cambridge Histories Online – An historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series.
- Jstor – Subject based collections of content. Search across journals, books and pamphlets.
- Artemis Primary Sources – search across archives of 17th, 18th and 19th century monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, maps and early photographs.
- Hornsby Library databases require you to sign up for free membership.
- Internet Modern History Sourcebook – Original texts and supporting material organised by area of study.
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebook – Original texts and supporting material organised by area of study.
- What is History? – A compilation of websites of resources relating to historiography and the theory of history
- World Digital Library – Significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.
Bibliographies and Citations
- Ask your teacher for requirements; keep records up to date – retrospectively is difficult.
- Bibliography Generator – choose the style you need.