General Resources for Senior Students
- Use the Information Skills Process (ISP) on the Research page to guide you.
- Browse the non-fiction shelves. 907 – Historiography; 930s – General Ancient History/Archaeology; 932s – Ancient Egypt; 937 – Ancient Rome; 938 – Ancient Greece; 939 – other parts of the Ancient World, e.g. Troy, Knossos; 355 – Military Science/Arms/Weapons; 709 – Art; 730 – Sculpture; 292 – Mythology; 792 – Theatre; 880s – Ancient writers such as Homer and Euripides. Check the catalogue for other subjects such as clothing, technology.
- For audio visual resources, search ClickView by subject heading or title. ClickView can be accessed when you are at home. Restrictions apply based on age rating.
- Search the CTHS Library Oliver catalogue using subject headings such as: Civilisation, Greek; Greece – Antiquities; Greece – Civilisation; Greece – History – 500-404 B.C., Classical period; Pericles; Pompeii (extinct city); Herculaneum (extinct city).
- CTHS Library also holds History magazines including National Geographic History, History Today and BBC History. The contents pages are searchable using Oliver.
- Expand your search to Hornsby Library resources by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Hornsby Shire Library. If you are a member of Hornsby Library you can borrow their items.
- Expand your search to Macquarie University library resources by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Macquarie University Library. You can access their hard copy resources onsite but will be unable to borrow.
- Search World Book Online Advanced or Timelines. This is a reliable starting point for research if you don’t know much about the topic.
- Non-fiction shelves: History of the ancient & medieval world (930 HIS).
- State Library of NSW databases require you to sign up for free membership. Choose a database by name. General Ancient History databases with which to start your research are:
- Cambridge Companions Online – Subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment.
- Cambridge Histories Online – An historical reference compendium allows instant access to the renowned texts of the Cambridge Histories series.
- Jstor – Subject based collections of content. Search across journals, books and pamphlets.
- Hornsby Library databases require you to sign up for free membership.
- Internet Ancient History Sourcebook – Original texts and supporting material organised by area of study.
- Best of History Websites – A portal to sites covering a wide variety of topics and periods in history.
Bibliographies and Citations
- Ask your teacher for requirements; keep records up to date – retrospectively is difficult.
- Bibliography Generator – choose the style you need.