General Resources for Senior Students
- Use the Information Skills Process (ISP) on the Research page to guide you.
- Browse the non-fiction shelves from 910. Books on specific topics can be found in those particular sections.
- Search the National Geographic Archive using login details which are available from library staff. Search all issues of National Geographic or browse subject based collections.
- For audio visual resources, search DVC and ClickView by subject heading or title. DVC can only be viewed at school. ClickView can be accessed when you are at home. Restrictions apply based on age/rating.
- Search the CTHS Library Oliver catalogue using subject terms e.g. ecology, environment, pollution.
- CTHS Library also holds specialist Geography magazines including Australian Geographic and National Geographic. The contents pages of Australian Geographic are searchable using Oliver.
- Expand your search to Hornsby Library resources by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Hornsby Shire Library. If you are a member of Hornsby Library you can borrow their items.
- Expand your search to Macquarie University library resources by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Macquarie University Library. You can access their hard copy resources onsite but will be unable to borrow.
- Search World Book Online Advanced or Timelines. This is a reliable starting point for research if you don’t know much about the topic.
- State Library of NSW databases require you to sign up for free membership. Choose a database by name. General databases with which to start your research are:
- Informit – Provides access to Australasian scholarly research.
- Proquest Research Library – Index on a broad range of subjects.
- PAIS International – Global coverage of public affairs and world issues.
- Jstor – Subject based collections of content. Search across journals, books and pamphlets.
- National Library of Australia databases require you to sign up for free membership. Choose a database by name. A Geography database with which to start your research is:
- AusGeoRef – a subset of the GeoRef database published by the American Geological Institute. It contains bibliographic references to Australian geoscience literature.
- Hornsby Library databases require you to sign up for free membership.
- A number of relevant websites are listed on the CTHS Library Oliver catalogue.
- The Conversation – independent source of news and views, sourced from the academic and research community and delivered direct to the public.
- OECD – Global statistics and publications.
- United Nations – Global statistics and publications.
- Scootle – a national repository that provides Australian schools with digital resources aligned to the Australian Curriculum. Refine your search by year level, resource type and topic. Login via the NSW Education button.
Bibliographies and Citations
- Ask your teacher for requirements; keep records up to date – retrospectively is difficult.
- Bibliography Generator – choose the style you need.