Textiles and Design
- Use the Information Skills Process (ISP) on the Research page to guide you.
- Browse the non-fiction shelves:
- 4 – Fashion industry; 646 – Sewing; 391s– Costume, Personal appearance; 677 – Textiles; 741.6s – Illustration; 745.5s – Decorative arts/Handicrafts; 746s – Textile arts; 940-990s – History, culture of specific countries.
- For audio visual resources, search ClickView by subject heading or title. ClickView can be accessed when you are at home. Restrictions apply based on age/rating.
- Search the CTHS Library Oliver catalogue using subject terms such as costume, design, dress and dressmaking, embroidery, fabrics, fashion, textiles.
- Search Series: Issues in Society, Current social issues (some searchable contents pages).
- Expand your search to Trove by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Trove.
- Expand your search to Hornsby Library resources by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Hornsby Shire Library. If you are a member of Hornsby Library you can borrow their items.
- Expand your search to Macquarie University library resources by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Macquarie University Library. You can access their hard copy resources onsite but will be unable to borrow.
Newspapers have many useful articles on current developments in all spheres of fashion, textile, new fabrics, industry and sustainability. Search/browse using subject headings.
- Sydney Morning Herald
- The Age
- Australian Financial Review
- Search World Book Online Advanced or Timelines. This is a reliable starting point for research if you don’t know much about the topic.
- State Library of NSW databases require you to sign up for free membership. Choose a database by name.
- Hornsby Library databases require you to sign up for free membership.
Search term examples: smart textiles, techno-textiles, eTextiles, future textiles, supply chain, sustainable fashion, Fair Trade; add additional descriptors such as social problems, issues, pollution, sustainability, environmental impact or other terms depending on your topic.
- Fashion Resources: Fibers, Textiles, & Fabric Sourcing – A variety of internet links related to the textiles industry
- HEIA(Q) Home Economics Institute of Australia (Queensland) – Textile, fashion and clothing links
- Cotton education kit
- The State of Fashion report 2019: A year of awakening – Report on the global fashion industry
- Ted Talks – Talks about various aspects of fashion and textiles
Textiles and the future
- Smart textiles
- Yarn Battery Could Power Smart Clothes and Wearables
- The Future Of Fashion: From Design To Merchandising, How Tech Is Reshaping The Industry
- The Environment’s New Clothes: Biodegradable Textiles Grown From Live Organisms
Museums, galleries, collections
- Contemporary Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander textiles (1999) (archived, no longer updated)
- Museum of NZ Te Papa Tongarewa: Textiles and Dress Collection
- Textile Museum of Canada
- The MET Costume Institute Collections
- FIDM (Fashion Institute of Design and Merchandising) Museum online Collection
- Henry Art Gallery, University of Washington, Costumes and Textiles
- Explore fashion and textile collections from around the world
- Museum of FIT (Fashion Institute of Technology)
- Google Arts & Culture: We wear culture – The stories behind what we wear
Traceability, sustainability, poverty, ethics in the textile industry
- Articles on Sustainable fashion/The Conversation
- Dirty Fashion
- 7 Ways To Help Us Make More Ethical Fashion Choices
- Where did you get that outfit?
- Member Spotlight | Full Circle Fibres
- Traceability in Global Supply Chains: Garments and Textiles Industry
- Lovia creates sustainable products with a story
- Traceability for Clothing
- Product authenticity and traceability of the entire textile manufacturing chain is now possible with IDENTITY by HeiQ
- Understanding the origin of products is key to ending supply chain scandals
- What she makes: power and poverty in the fashion industry
- 7 forms of sustainable fashion
- Fashion revolution/Fair trade
- Textile Supply Chain
- Textile recycling may give a new life to clothes that can’t be donated to charity
Bibliographies and Citations
- Ask your teacher for requirements; keep records up to date – retrospectively is difficult.
- Bibliography Generator – choose the style you need.