General Resources for Senior Students
- Use the Information Skills Process (ISP) on the Research page to guide you.
- Browse the non-fiction shelves at 330s and 650s.
- For audio visual resources, search DVC and ClickView by subject heading or title. DVC can only be viewed at school. ClickView can be accessed when you are at home. Restrictions apply based on age/rating.
- The State Library of NSW has an HSC Business Studies guide.
- Search the CTHS Library Oliver catalogue using subject terms e.g. human resources, marketing, business.
- Expand your search to Hornsby Library resources by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Hornsby Shire Library. If you are a member of Hornsby Library you can borrow their items.
- Expand your search to Macquarie University library resources by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Macquarie University Library. You can access their hard copy resources onsite but will be unable to borrow.
- Search the Australian Financial Review or the Sydney Morning Herald by clicking on the link on the left of the page. These can only be accessed on school grounds.
- AFRbiz – Australian Financial Review case studies and business news. See library staff for login details.
- State Library of NSW databases require you to sign up for free membership. Choose a database by name. General databases with which to start your research are:
- Informit Business Collection – Covers a full range of contemporary business issues.
- ISBISWorld – Industry and company research reports.
- ABI/Inform (Proquest) – Indexes international business and management journals.
- Economics Intelligence Unit (EIU) reports and publications – Country, market and regional business reports.
- Hornsby Library databases require you to sign up for free membership.
- A number of relevant websites are listed on the CTHS Library Oliver catalogue.
- The Conversation – independent source of news and views, sourced from the academic and research community and delivered direct to the public.
- Scootle – a national repository that provides Australian schools with digital resources aligned to the Australian Curriculum. Refine your search by year level, resource type and topic. Login via the NSW Education button.
- Austrade – Australian Trade and Investment Commission
- Business.gov.au – Provides essential information on planning, starting and growing a business.
Bibliographies and Citations
- Ask your teacher for requirements; keep records up to date – retrospectively is difficult.
- Bibliography Generator – choose the style you need.