General Resources for Senior Students
- Use the Information Skills Process (ISP) on the Research page to guide you.
- Browse the non-fiction shelves: science 500s; water resources 333.91; water 553.7; biology 570s; plants 580s; agriculture 630s; chemistry 540s, 660s & 641.3; human body 612s; disasters 904s.
- Search ClickView for audio-visual material. Please note you will only be able to view items rated G and PG and only whilst you are at school.
- Search the CTHS Library Oliver catalogue using the subject heading science; search for specific topics as required: experiments, water, water resources, human body, botany, plants, chemistry, space, disasters, additives, chemicals, etc.
- Expand your search to Hornsby Library resources by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Hornsby Shire Library. If you are a member of Hornsby Library you can borrow their resources.
- Expand your search to Macquarie University library resources by running a search in Oliver, click other providers and select Macquarie University Library. You can access their hard copy resources onsite but will be unable to borrow.
- The Sydney Morning Herald – digital edition accessible while at school.
- Current Social Issues – search Oliver.
- Issues in Society – print copies available. Search by series in Oliver for relevant titles.
- Australian Science – print copies available. The contents pages are searchable using Oliver.
- ChemMatters – print copies available. The contents pages are searchable using Oliver.
- Cosmos – print copies available. The contents pages are searchable using Oliver.
- Double Helix – print copies available. The contents pages are searchable using Oliver.
- Mechanical Engineering – print copies available. The contents pages are searchable using Oliver.
- New Scientist Magazine – print copies available. The contents pages are searchable using Oliver.
- Search World Book Online Advanced or Timelines. This is a reliable starting point for research if you don’t know much about the topic.
- State Library of NSW databases require you to sign up for free membership. Choose a database by name/subject (Science & Technology + select category).
- Science databases with which to start your research:
- Proquest Science Journals
- Science in context (GALE)
- Science Reference Center (EBSCO)
- Hornsby Library databases require you to sign up for free membership.
- Check the HSC study lab and eResources for Research Subject List.
- Australia – Department of the Environment and Energy
- ABC Science – explore by topic e.g. energy & transport, environment & nature, innovation & technology.
- Biointeractive – Scientific Process
- Royal Society of Chemistry – Access articles, multimedia and interactive resources.
- Chemistry in Australia – Royal Australian Chemical Institute’s magazine.
- Delights of Chemistry – View movies, chemistry demonstrations and a chemistry photo library.
- Earth Science Australia – simple overview
- Topics | Australia – State of the Environment Report
- Geoscience Australia | Scientific Topics
- The Conversation | Environment + Energy
- Parks & Wildlife Service Tasmania | Continental Drift and Gondwana
- PLOS Journals – open access journals.
Bibliographies and Citations
- Ask your teacher for requirements; keep records up to date – retrospectively is difficult.
- Bibliography Generator – choose the style you need.
Talks and readings on science in society and thinking scientifically.
- The danger of science denial
- Beware neuro-bunk
- What we think we know
- Why I must speak out about climate change
- Science can answer moral questions
- How animations can help scientists test an hypothesis
- Solving medical mysteries
- A theory of everything
- Battling bad science
- How simple ideas lead to scientific discoveries
- The pursuit of ignorance
- Why we should trust scientists